Find an alternative to ChatGPT for everyday work
Compare an alternative to ChatGPT with Claude, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Mistral (Vibe) and Grok. Each row shows the free-plan position, limits, upload details and named writing features.
The fact matrix
Read each row by starting with the task, then checking free access, limits, uploads and writing features before choosing a plan. Under each cell is the vendor page we read and the date. The order of the rows is not a ranking.
| Assistant | Free plan | Free-plan limits | Image and file upload | Writing features named |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPTOpenAI · baseline | Yes, there is a Free plan at no charge chatgpt.com checked 2 Oct 2026 | Unlimited text chats (subject to abuse guardrails); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and memory chatgpt.com checked 1 Oct 2026 | Free and paid plans can upload images or files in prompts. Vendor states Free users are limited to 3 file uploads per day; images are capped at 20MB each. help.openai.com checked 2 Oct 2026 | Writing blocks: editable areas for draft text such as emails, messages, social posts and documents (availability varies by plan). Plus lists projects, scheduled tasks and custom GPTs. help.openai.com checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| ClaudeAnthropic | Yes, US$0 claude.com checked 1 Oct 2026 | Usage limits apply; the pricing page gives no message count. Free includes web search, file creation, code execution, memory and Artifacts claude.com checked 1 Oct 2026 | Help page says you can upload documents and images (JPEG, PNG, GIF, WebP): up to 20 files per chat, 500MB per file. The article does not say which plans this applies to. support.claude.com checked 2 Oct 2026 | Artifacts are available on Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans. Free also lists creating files; Pro adds Claude Design, Slides, Docs and Projects. support.claude.com checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| GeminiGoogle | Yes, US$0/month with a Google Account gemini.google checked 2 Oct 2026 | Access to the Flash model and varying access to the Pro model; image generation, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas and Gems; 15 GB storage gemini.google checked 1 Oct 2026 | Signed-in users can upload documents, spreadsheets, photos, videos and more: up to 10 files per prompt (subject to availability). Google AI plans get higher upload limits. support.google.com checked 2 Oct 2026 | Canvas (listed on the Free plan) for generating drafts, adjusting tone and editing sections. Google AI Pro adds Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Vids and more. gemini.google checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft | Yes. Microsoft describes Microsoft Copilot (free) as available free of cost, for general questions and answers and web-based tasks, on the web, desktop and mobile apps and in Edge. support.microsoft.com checked 2 Oct 2026 | No numeric caps are stated on the pages read. Microsoft says signing in gives chat history, more image creation, longer conversations and longer use of voice. support.microsoft.com checked 2 Oct 2026 | You can upload images or supported files into a chat: up to 20 files per conversation, 50MB per file. The help page does not say which plan this applies to. support.microsoft.com checked 2 Oct 2026 | Copilot Pages for planning, writing and outlining, with rich text editing; you can ask Copilot to simplify, rewrite, expand or improve grammar or tone. Sign-in is required for Pages. support.microsoft.com checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Mistral (Vibe)Mistral AI | Yes, free tier on web and mobile mistral.ai checked 1 Oct 2026 | Limited messages and web searches, limited coding sessions; image generation included mistral.ai checked 1 Oct 2026 | Libraries and document upload supports PDF, images, CSV, text files and Office files. The plan table lists it as Limited on Free, up to 15GB on Pro and up to 30GB per user on Team. mistral.ai checked 2 Oct 2026 | Canvas to create documents, presentations, code and mockups; project folders to group chats. The pricing page text does not show which plans include them. mistral.ai checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| GrokxAI | Not verified The product page offers 'Try for free'; terms not stated x.ai tried 2 Oct 2026 | Not verified Not stated on the pages we could read grok.com tried 2 Oct 2026 | Vendor lists vision understanding (analyse screenshots, photos and diagrams) and file and PDF analysis (upload documents for summaries). Plan and limits are not stated on the page read. x.ai checked 2 Oct 2026 | Canvas for writing: long-form editing with inline suggestions. Also custom instructions. Plan is not stated on the page read. x.ai checked 2 Oct 2026 |
Scroll the table sideways to see every column.
About the prices. Vendor pages were read on 1 and 2 October 2026 from a connection in Australia. Where a vendor shows local prices, we took the US-dollar figure from its United States page or its help centre and link to that page. Where we could not read a US-dollar price, the cell says so and names the currency we saw. Prices in other countries can differ.
Who each one suits, and who it does not
These lines are drawn only from the facts we could read on vendor pages. We have not run our own tests, so nothing here ranks the tools on the quality of their output.
ChatGPTSource: chatgpt.com
- Best for
- The baseline. Its free plan lists unlimited text chats, so the reasons to switch are the limits on everything else.Based on: free-plan limits
- Not ideal for
- People who want a cheap ad-free tier: the plan below Plus is the one the vendor says may include ads.Based on: first paid plan
ClaudeSource: claude.com
- Best for
- Getting file creation and code execution without paying: both are listed on the free plan.Based on: free-plan limits
- Not ideal for
- Anyone who needs a published free message allowance to plan around: the page only says usage limits apply.Based on: free-plan limits
GeminiSource: gemini.google
- Best for
- Households already paying Google for storage: the paid tiers bundle 400 GB to 5 TB with the assistant.Based on: first paid plan, listed features
- Not ideal for
- A small team that only wants a few chat seats at consumer prices: the business edition starts at US$21 a seat.Based on: team seat
Microsoft CopilotSource: microsoft.com
- Best for
- People who live in Word, Excel and Outlook: the assistant comes inside the Microsoft 365 subscription.Based on: first paid plan, listed features
- Not ideal for
- Buyers who only want a chat assistant: every paid tier on the page is a Microsoft 365 bundle.Based on: first paid plan
Mistral (Vibe)Source: mistral.ai
- Best for
- A standalone assistant with a paid plan under US$15 a month: Pro is listed at US$14.99.Based on: first paid plan
- Not ideal for
- Heavy free use: messages, web searches and coding sessions are all described as limited.Based on: free-plan limits
GrokSource: x.ai
- Best for
- Questions about what is happening right now: the product page leads with live web and X search.Based on: listed features
- Not ideal for
- A low-cost paid step: the listed plans run from US$10 to US$300 a month.Based on: first paid plan
How to choose from this table
Start with the everyday task you need. ChatGPT lists unlimited text chats on its Free plan, subject to abuse guardrails. Claude includes file creation and code execution for Free, while Gemini lists Canvas, image generation and Deep Research.
Set your budget before comparing paid options. Claude and Gemini have free plans listed at US$0 and US$0/month. Mistral (Vibe) lists Pro at US$14.99, while Grok's listed plans run from US$10 to US$300 a month.
Check limits before relying on a free plan. ChatGPT says Free users have limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and memory. Claude applies usage limits but gives no message count, while Mistral (Vibe) describes messages, web searches and coding sessions as limited.
Match the plan to your work setup. Microsoft Copilot lists uploads of up to 20 files per conversation and 50MB per file, with no numeric caps stated on the pages read. Gemini says signed-in users can upload up to 10 files per prompt, while ChatGPT lists 3 file uploads per day for Free users.
Treat not verified as a reason to check, not a mark against the product. It means the vendor page did not show us the detail on the day. Every figure, with its source and date, is also in the fact ledger.
Related: AI tools compared by task, price and usage limits, Business AI plans compared by cost and limits, Free AI tools and their plan limits, Compare ChatGPT and budget-friendly alternatives.
Questions people ask
Which alternative to ChatGPT has a free plan?
Claude, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot and Mistral (Vibe) all list a free option. Grok's product page says “Try for free”, but the terms were not stated on the page read.
Which tool offers file creation and code execution for free?
Claude is the clearest match in the comparison because its free-plan description includes both file creation and code execution. ChatGPT's Free plan lists unlimited text chats but limits several other features.
How many files can I upload?
ChatGPT says Free users can upload 3 files per day, with images capped at 20MB each. Claude's help page lists up to 20 files per chat and 500MB per file, but does not say which plans this applies to. Gemini lists up to 10 files per prompt.
Which tool has writing features for drafting and editing?
Gemini lists Canvas on its Free plan for generating drafts, adjusting tone and editing sections. Microsoft Copilot lists Copilot Pages for planning, writing and outlining, while ChatGPT lists writing blocks whose availability varies by plan.